Loire bridge

Loire bridge

A bridge is mentioned as early as 1227: three structures imperfectly aligned and often carried away by the waters of the Loire. The Grand Pont crossed the navigable arm, on the city side, to Île-aux-Bœufs. In 1535, it was built of stone. The Notre-Dame bridge, made of stone in 1550, joined Île-aux-Bœufs to a second island where the Notre-Dame du Bout-du-Pont chapel stood. Finally, the small Official’s Bridge joined this island on the left bank, to the south.

It was decided to build a single bridge, the design of which would be entrusted to Louis de Règemortes, engineer of the turcies and levees of the Loire, who had just completed the bridge that now bears his name at Moulins and that he had specifically designed to withstand the high floods of the Allier. The 1763 project considered that the main bridge, representing the northern part, was in sufficient condition not to require reconstruction. The southern part, which replaced the other two bridges, was built between 1770 and 1778. But the old northern part collapsed during the great flood of 1790 and was replaced by a temporary wooden bridge that lasted until 1832 and the completion of the northern part, with the addition of seven additional arches2, in the same style as the southern part.

The bridge is made of Coulandon sandstone and is 350 m long. It consists of 14 arches flanked by strong piers that have perfectly withstood the great century-old floods of the 19th century.

The bridge crossing from the south offers a panoramic

The bridge crossing from the south offers a panoramic view of the city, one of the most represented views. In addition to the bridge and the Loire, you can see the quays, the walking trails along the river, the cathedral of Saint-Cyr-et-Sainte-Julitte and the Goguin tower.

Pont de Loire

Pont de Loire

Un pont est mentionné dès 1227 : trois ouvrages imparfaitement alignés et souvent emportés par les eaux de la Loire. Le Grand Pont traversait le bras navigable, côté ville, jusqu’à l’île-aux-Bœufs. En 1535, celui-ci était construit en pierre. Le pont Notre-Dame, en pierre en 1550, joignait l’île-aux-Bœufs à une seconde île où s’élevait la chapelle Notre-Dame du Bout-du-Pont. Enfin, le petit Pont de l’Official rejoignait cette île à la rive gauche, au sud.

Il fut décidé de construire un pont unique dont la conception va être confiée à Louis de Règemortes, ingénieur des turcies et levées de la Loire, qui venait d’achever le pont qui désormais porte son nom à Moulins et qu’il avait spécifiquement conçu pour résister aux fortes crues de l’Allier. Le projet établi en 1763 considérait que le pont principal, représentant la partie nord, était en état suffisant pour ne pas nécessiter une reconstruction. La partie sud qui remplaçait les deux autres ponts est elle construite de 1770 à 1778. Mais l’ancienne partie nord s’écroula lors de la grande crue de 1790 et fut donc remplacée par un pont provisoire en bois qui dura jusqu’en 1832 et l’achèvement de la partie nord, avec l’adjonction de sept arches supplémentaires, de même style que la partie sud.

Le pont est construit en grès de Coulandon et mesure 350 m. Il est formé de 14 arches flanquées de fortes piles qui ont parfaitement résisté aux grandes crues centennales du XIXe siècle.

Le franchissement du pont en provenance du sud offre une vue panoramique sur la ville, une des vues les plus représentées. On peut voir, outre le pont et la Loire, les quais, les sentiers de promenade le long du fleuve, la cathédrale Saint-Cyr-et-Sainte-Julitte et la tour Goguin.